Advertisement

What should a Babalawo reveal about the Odu governing your life?

topic posted Mon, March 9, 2009 - 9:06 PM by  Segeju
Share/Save/Bookmark
For the second time, I visited a Babalawo, because I wasn't sure about the first Babalawo I had visited and just wanted to make sure. Please note that I am very new to the tradition and this is why I am respectfully asking for your assistance.

I was going for a general reading on certain occurrences in my life these past few months. Both Babalawos I visited are Nigerian men in their 40's, and both live here in the United States. The first Babalawo was very professional, though he charged me what appeared to be an exorbitant amount for my reading ($250).

With the second Babalawo, everything seemed okay. the same odu came up (Odi-Ofun), but again, this Babalawo did not reveal what the odu meant, what I should do etc. he charged me $150.

Are Babalawos supposed to recite the odu for you and tell you prohibitions, etc?

I have no idea what Odi-Ofun means and don't know what to do or how to act.

Please, if someone can tell me what this odu means, I will greatly appreciate it. I have looked everywhere and cannot find the meaning or story.

I thank you for all your help.
posted by:
Segeju
Dallas
Advertisement
  • Hello Segeiu,